#Thatcamp report part 2: workshops

Here’s the second  part of my THATCamp report.  Friday was a full day of various workshops for those interested in learning more about specific digital tools.  I decided to start by honing my Omeka skills and took Sharon Leon’s workshop on Web Publishing for Humanists.  While the session was aimed primarily at beginners, I did learn a few new things and got a chance to create a mock website for the department.

Next, I attended a workshop on Viewshare, taught by Trevor Owens, a digital archivist at the National Digital Information Infrastructure and Preservation Program (NDIIPP) in the Office of Strategic Initiatives at the Library of Congress. According to the website, “Viewshare is a free, Library-of-Congress-sponsored platform that empowers historians, librarians, archivists and curators to create and customize dynamic interfaces to collections of digital content.” Go watch the screencast and hopefully you will agree it’s pretty cool.  One problem — it doesn’t work with newer versions of ContentDM, which is what the CCSU library and the CT State Library use for their digital collections.  I think there are plans to fix this in the future.

The last workshop I attended was on Digital Humanities and Mobile Devices taught by Mike Tedeschi.  Here is a link to the slides for his presentation.  My energy level and attention span by this point were pretty minimal so I left early and went for a run to give my brain a rest up before another full day of that-camping.

Leave a comment